Distinguishing Discovered from Undiscovered

No Man’s Sky Mods Forums Modding Help Distinguishing Discovered from Undiscovered

• This topic has 3 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 4 years ago by yiab.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      yiab
      Participant

I’m new to No Man’s Sky modding and I wonder if any of the following mods would be possible to do, and if so how I should go about finding them or starting to create one of them.

So you all know those icons on your HUD that show up when using a scanner, beacon, transmission tower, etc. Unfortunately once the icons appear on my HUD I can’t tell which ones are places I’ve already been to and which are new places. This is a problem since I’d like to find, name, and upload every location on a single planet. To remedy this, I’d like to do (at least) one of the following:

1. Make a different set of icons for discovered places than the one for undiscovered places (or vice versa),
      2. Make it so that using a scanner, beacon, etc only ever marks a previously undiscovered location,
      3. Make it so that discovered places are only visible through the analysis visor and undiscovered places without (or vice versa),
      4. Make it so that scanning from the air makes visible (and preferably marks on the HUD) all nearby question marks (and only question marks),
      5. Make it so that scanning from space makes visible (and marks on the HUD) all icons on a planet at once (probably extremely costly in terms of computer resources),

This is in approximate order of my preferences for what to try.

Any suggestions?

P.S. In terms of creating one of these myself I’m a fairly experienced coder (Java and Python) and I’ve made mods for Minecraft, Morrowind, Oblivion, Skyrim, and Fallout 3 before – a simple tutorial on how to start looking over these PAK files would be very helpful.

ehelldane
      Participant